June in Review

Thank you all for your tips and words of encouragement last week! You all gave such great advice. The tips that really stuck with me were that 1) it’s too early to worry too much about my pace, 2) if I want to push the pace, do it when I’m not increasing mileage, and 3) keep running, the pace will probably follow. I’m taking all your advice to heart, thanks!

Last week was week 4 of training for the Twin Cities Marathon. I completed all four of my planned runs for the week, and I hit a big milestone in my recovery, the double digit mile long run. I ran 10 miles on Sunday, and everything felt great! I finally feel like I’m back on track with my marathon training.

Here’s how the runs went down last week:

Tuesday: 3 mile trail run, 13:26 pace. With 318ft of gain in those three miles, I was okay with being slow.

Wednesday: 6 mile run, 12:50 pace. The longest mid-week runs in my training plan are on Wednesdays, so I’m switching my Wednesday morning routine. I’m running in the morning instead of spinning in the morning and running in the afternoon. I need to keep my legs relatively fresh on these Wednesday runs since they will be tempo runs at some point, and with the Summer heat, I can’t put in a quality run in the afternoon.

 

My favorite place to do pre-work tempo runs.
My favorite place to do pre-work tempo runs.

Saturday: 3 miles, 12:11 pace. Short and sweet run to wake up the legs for Sunday’s long run.

Sunday: 10 miles, 13:56 pace. My legs felt great for most of the run, but it was just tough. I had strong headwinds at times, and there was 948ft of gain. I’m realizing this area where I’ve been doing my long runs won’t be a good training area for future long runs, it’s just too hilly, and my marathon will be flat. So I’m running somewhere new this weekend, somewhere flat. After this long run, I hung out in my sweet new Pro Compression socks that I won in shesgoingthedistance‘s giveaway. I swear these socks work recovery miracles, I felt great the next day despite not having run 10 miles since April.

Recovering in my ProCompression marathon socks.
Recovering in my Pro Compression marathon socks

This brings my weekly mileage to 22 miles, I’m nearly on track with my marathon training plan!

Of course runs like these need proper fuel, and I have to share two recipes that made last week super tasty. Both come from skinnytaste.com, and both are delicious!

The first is called Lomo Saltado, which is a Peruvian Beef Stir-fry. I fell in love with Peruvian cuisine in a strip mall in Las Vegas (of all places). I was in Vegas with a group of friends, and one of them was a Peruvian transplant. She took us to her favorite Peruvian restaurant, Mi Peru, and it was A-W-E-S-O-M-E! This recipe from skinnytaste has the same flavors I remember from that restaurant. It’s a beef stir-fry on top of french fries, and it’s delicious!

Lomo Saltado
Lomo Saltado

The second recipe from last week I wanted to share is another skinnytaste.com recipe, it’s Orange Chicken. If you follow irishrunnerchick, it’s the same recipe she posted about a couple weeks ago. What I love about this recipe is that it keeps all the flavor I love in the dish, but it gets rid of the breaded chicken, I’m not a big fan of breaded chicken in my Asian cuisine. It cooks up quickly and tastes great, my two biggest rules for a weeknight dinner.

Orange Chicken
Orange Chicken

 

Both of these recipes have a permanent spot in the rotation. 🙂

 

I kinda can’t believe it’s already July. The year is half over, yikes! While I picked up my running in June (YES!), I did other things less. My goals for July are to keep up with my running and training for the marathon, strength train 2-3 days per week, hike at least once a week, and maybe try to mountain bike more. I’d like to spin once a week, but I’m not going to hold myself to that. I’m a little disappointed I did only one short hike in June, and I really want to remedy that in July.

June in Review

15 runs, 65.56 miles (I doubled the number of runs I did in May and tripled the mileage!)

2 climbing days

3 mountain bike rides, 16.23 miles

6 spin classes

1 elliptical workout

1 hike, 2.12 miles

6 strength training workouts

 

 

Do you have a favorite food blog? I’m always on the lookout for good food blogs.

Do you have goals in mind for July?

Thanks again for your tips and encouragement!

 

 

12 thoughts on “June in Review

  1. Skinnytaste really is an excellent food blog. I used to follow so many…I’ll have to look back and see which ones are still around for recommendations! And I’m glad that you relaxed about your pace etc. The most important thing with marathon training is just to not get hurt, but then again, that is also the hardest!

  2. That Peruvian beef looks amazing, I will definitely be trying that! My goal for July is just to be consistent and smart about adapting to the heat/humidity of a Virginia summer, it’s been rough in the 3 days I’ve been here so far.

    • I feel for you! Minneapolis gets quite humid as well, and I remember it being r-o-u-g-h! I hope the humidity dies down some and you can enjoy being outside soon!

  3. Hey, sock twin! I like your socks! 🙂
    You had such a great month and that food looks phenomenal. My favorite food blog is called Playing House. She hasn’t posted for a long time but if you look back through her archives there are tons of great things!

  4. Nice work, keep it up! I love how you have a Peruvian place. Most people think everything is ‘Mexican’. We have a really good Salvadorian place here. Love it!

  5. Nice work! I’m impressed! If you’re doing your speed work on Wednesday mornings, there’s a group up here via Lulu Lemon that does them on the track – I’ve been wanting to try it out – let me know if you’re interested! Otherwise, my normal group always does something hillwork/speed on Tuesday nights. That stuff is hard to motivate for!

    • Thanks! I might be interested in the Wednesday morning speed workout. I’m usually doing tempo runs on Wednesday mornings, and next week I’ll be bumping up that mileage to six miles. I might be able to switch days though, do you know how far they’re running?

Leave a Reply

