Good Eats

I’m a big fan of food. Since I like to eat well and not spend a fortune doing so, I’ve also become a bit of a cook. I love trying out recipes and modifying them over time, I have my go-to quick recipes for weeknights, and I have spent several hours preparing a single meal. Something about making really good food is very rewarding to me. I’ve been trying to think of ways to share recipes on this blog without “stealing” other people’s work. I did some research, and it seems that it is generally okay to share a recipe if you cite where it came from, and write the cooking instructions in your own words. So I plan to share a lot more recipes on this blog, and my first shared recipe is the delicious dish I made last night.

In an attempt to get more veggies in my diet, I jumped on the Meatless Monday bandwagon. I’ve been doing this for about three months now, and it’s been great! I’m eating more veggies, eating less meat, and feeling good. I have an egg and a dairy allergy, so it’s hard to get the protein I need. I definitely notice that some of my meatless meals have less protein than I would like. This recipe, adapted from the Meatless cookbook is one of my favorite meatless protein packed dinners. Technically, I think it’s a breakfast meal, but I’m a fan of breakfast dinners, so it counts as a dinner for me.

20140429-222748.jpg

Southwestern Hash

Ingredients:

2 medium red potatoes cut into 1 inch chunks
~5 tablespoons canola oil
1 tsp ground cumin
1 jalapeño pepper seeded and diced
3-4 scallions sliced
8 ounces cherry tomatoes halved – I had a 10.5 ounce container of cherry tomatoes and opted to use the whole thing
1 can black beans rinsed and drained
2 teaspoons nutritional yeast – I have seen dense nutritional yeast, like grated Parmesan, and flaky nutritional yeast. I’m not sure if there is a flavor difference, but I had the flaky stuff and definitely used more than 2 teaspoons. I used more like 2 tablespoons.
1 8 ounce package of plain tempeh chopped
1 medium avocado chopped
Handful of cilantro chopped
Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:
1. Boil potato chunks in salted water until they are easily pierced with a fork. Drain and set aside.
2. Heat ~ 2 tablespoons of oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. Add cumin and cook for 30 seconds. Add potatoes and cook until the edges start to turn golden, 7-10 minutes. Keep adding oil as necessary, it helps you get that crispy golden crust on the potatoes. Once they have that crust, remove the potatoes from the pan and set aside.
3. Heat remaining oil on medium heat. Add the jalapeño, tomatoes, scallions, yeast and tempeh. Cook until the tomatoes start to loose their shape, about 5 minutes. Add the beans and cook until they are heated through. Add the potatoes and cook until they are heated through.
4. Remove pan from heat and stir in avocado and cilantro. Season to taste with salt and pepper.

20140429-225222.jpg

20140429-225248.jpg

Enjoy!

7 thoughts on “Good Eats

  1. I like people who are big fans of food. I’m a fan of food fans 😀 And I love all of the flavors included in this–I will have to change some things around for the husband to try it, but it is similar to an idea that I had for something to make him to take to work. And that picture…. mmmm..

Leave a Reply

