Sugar

I have a confession to make, I have a major sweet tooth. It’s bad. If I buy a bag of chocolate, I’ll mindlessly eat it, and when I realize that I have no will power with respect to eating the bag of chocolate, I’ll decide that the only thing to do is to eat it all quickly so I’m not tempted to eat it later. Yeah, I realize that makes no sense.

I’ll buy a cookie with my lunch, telling myself that I’ll run a certain distance later that day and eat a small dinner, thereby justifying my cookie splurge. But then I’ll miss my window of time to run, or I’ll not cut back on dinner because I’m hungry (duh!), and before I know it, I’ve overeaten for the day.

It’s come to the point where I crave sugar after most meals now. I think the holidays (Thanksgiving and Christmas) are always a big sugar-filled food time, and I just haven’t stopped craving sweets since December. Of course Valentine’s Day doesn’t help, nor does Easter for that matter. If you keep up with nutrition buzz, there’s a lot of talk about how sugar can be addictive. I think my sugar consumption has become a problem. Well, I’ve decided it’s time to do something about this sweet tooth.

For the next 3 weeks I’m cutting out refined sugar from my diet. My only exceptions to this rule are soy milk (which has 8 grams of sugar per cup, I usually drink 1.5 cups each morning in my protein shake), protein powder (2 grams of sugar per scoop, I have one scoop per day), and coffeemate (10 grams of sugar in 2 tablespoons – gotta have my coffee, and I can’t drink it black, I’m going to work on switching to soy milk instead). These three allowances add up to 24 grams of sugar per day, which is within the 30 grams of sugar per day recommendation of the American Heart Association. I don’t consider whole fruits to be refined sugar, so I am not eliminating them from my diet, but I don’t plan to drink any fruit juices.

With Troy’s parents visiting over the holiday weekend, I decided to start my refined sugar fast today. Yesterday I celebrated the end of my sugar eating with some ice cream, a double whammy for me since I also have a dairy allergy. I didn’t get a picture before I ate it, but I love Cold Stone’s banana ice cream with caramel and rainbow sprinkles. I’ve been told it’s a weird flavor choice, but I like it. πŸ™‚

20140421-214209.jpg

Today was day one of my sugar fast, and I’m amazed at how this little experiment is simplifying my food choices! I used to debate with myself about whether or not I should eat a treat, it’s kind of nice to not do that. An all out ban on refined sugar is much easier for me to manage than the occasional indulgence. Of course it’s only been one day, we’ll see how I feel in a week or two. πŸ˜‰

My goal with this is to reduce my sugar intake, obviously, but I would also like to not crave something sweet after every meal. I see myself eventually enjoying treats every now and then, but I want to be able to enjoy treats on my terms and not because I can’t resist a sugar craving. I guess it would be nice to not crave sugar anymore. So begins my sugar fast. Day one was easy, but I think it’s going to get harder. Here’s hoping I don’t end up like this:

20140421-220255.jpg
Image from afpcenter.com

10 thoughts on “Sugar

  1. Oh man, cookies, chocolate, cake, etc… I love it all, too!!! I applaud you for your will power to cut back on the sugar! Currently, I’m addicted to Joe Joe’s and chocolate/peanut butter!!! Ugh, I told myself no more!! NO MORE!!! πŸ˜‰

    • Thank you! I hear you on the Joe Joe’s and chocolate/peanut butter. The mini peanut butter cups at Trader Joe’s are a favorite treat of mine, but I don’t dare buy them anymore, I really can eat a whole tub in one sitting!

  2. Nice, Irene! I need to do something similar. Good luck! I’m sure you’ll feel better. I felt better when I cut out sugar on paleo. And cold turkey is what works best for me too.

  3. I have a total sweet tooth too! (I got really excited by a picture of Coldstone at the top of your post so that should tell you something.) I did cut some of the excess out of my diet last year right around the time I started running and saw a big change. I think you’ll be able to do it! (If I could, you can!) Good luck!

  4. I might have to take a note from you and try this out! My sweet tooth has been a little bit out of control lately. Not only is it a nasty little addiction for health reasons, it is also so dang expensive!

Leave a Reply

