Weekend Recap

Last week I didn’t go to a spinning class. Instead, I went mountain biking on a trail system in Park City that finally had dried out enough for some riding. The trail area is Round Valley, and it’s my favorite mountain biking area, and one of my favorite trail running areas. Last Friday we did a short ride just before it got dark, here’s a shot of the trail:

20140414-214547.jpg

When we got home, we saw that our pug, Pudgy, was sick. He had vomited several times while we were gone and was walking as though he was dizzy. It was scary. He has back problems, and I feared this was a very serious back episode, one that might require surgery, so we rushed to the 24 hour emergency vet (I’m so fortunate to live near one!). Pudgy tends to get nervous at the vet, so much so, that he gets an adrenaline boost and appears perfectly fine. Friday night was no exception. The vet thought he was fine, but then he vomited again, and we opted to do blood work and a urine analysis.

All his tests came back normal, and the vet was certain that his back was not the issue. The most likely explanation was that he had eaten something he shouldn’t have, and it made him sick. We were to feed him a bland diet and make sure he didn’t continue vomiting. If he continued to be sick, we had to bring him back for an ultrasound to look for foreign objects in his GI tract. By the time we got home it was nearly 1:00 in the morning.

My plan for Saturday was to run 8 miles, but with Pudgy being sick, and a lack of sleep from the late night vet visit, I opted to stay home and make sure he was okay. We cooked some plain chicken and rice, and fed him bit by bit throughout the day keeping an eye on him to see if he’d get sick again. He was completely fine all day! He was back to normal. šŸ™‚

20140414-215820.jpg

He loves to sit in the sun. šŸ™‚

We have a follow-up visit with his regular vet tomorrow morning. I hope they don’t tell me anything too scary, Pudgy seems to be doing fine now, fingers crossed that is the case!

Sunday was a snowy day, so I stayed in most of the day again. With a few 10+ mile long runs in the bag, and the fact that I’m not hoping to PR in my half marathon this weekend, I was totally okay with not doing a longer run. Troy’s parents are visiting us this weekend as well, so it was the perfect time to clean the house and relax.

Today Troy and I went climbing. Our climbing gym, Momentum, opened a new location that is only 14 miles away from us (versus the 27 mile drive to the old location). Tonight was a member’s only climbing night, so we took the chance to check out the new space. It was A-W-E-S-O-M-E!!!!

20140414-220934.jpg

20140414-220959.jpg

The majority of the climbs are steep, which can get tiring, but they’re really good for building strength. The bouldering area (the top picture – no ropes, short walls), was my favorite. I’ll definitely be getting back into bouldering this year. The climbing legend Chris Sharma was there, and it’s always fun to watch him climb. All in all it was a fun night of climbing, I just hope it gets less crowded within the next couple months!

I’m now in full taper mode. My half marathon is on Saturday, so I’ll run two or three days this week nice and easy. I might go climbing again later this week, but other than that I’m resting, eating, and trying not to get too anxious about the half. :/

Week In Review (Last Week):
2 runs, 8 miles
1 climbing day
1 strength training day

10 thoughts on “Weekend Recap

  1. Hi irene! You’re right around the corner from my hometown! Awesome pictures from your mountain bike ride – it looks like so much fun! And I love rock climbing too! It’s the only way I can trick myself into doing any kind of strength training…weights just aren’t my thing! Haha good luck on your upcoming half! You’re going to kick butt!

    • Thanks! Where is your hometown? I totally hear you about rock climbing being the only way to strength train, I try to strength train regularly, but have only recently been consistent about it. Climbing, on the other hand, I’ve been doing regularly for a while now šŸ™‚

      • Payson utah…and being consistent on weight training is a huge challenge for me, I used to climb 2-3 days a week and it was always fun learning new techniques and taking on new challenges. I was bummed to have to quit my climbing gym – but hopefully will be able to take it up again soon.

  2. Awww, I love when animals lay in the sun!! It’s so sweet to watch them fall asleep all warm and cuddly. Cute pictures!! I’m glad your doggy is okay! I’ve had some scared like that myself with Prince. Wow, I love the rock climbing wall!! That’s so neat- I really need to try it! YAY, SATURDAY!!! You’re going to do great!

    • Thanks!! All our animals love to get some sun šŸ™‚ It’s amazing how many times Pudgy had caught a bug, but my kitties never seem to get sick. The rock climbing wall was so fun, I’m glad I can start going there regularly now that it’s open!

      • That’s fantastic!! It sounds like you’re enjoying life with your cute babies and having a blast climbing!! Ohhh, Pudgy!! What a cutie!!

    • Thanks!! It’s always stressful for me when one of my pets gets sick, so I’m really glad Pudgy was okay. The climbing gym was great, I can’t wait to go back!

Leave a Reply

