Good Eats

This week has started off with some good eating and not much running. And by “not much”, I mean no running at all. Yesterday was an intended rest day, but today I had a run planned and again ran out of time to fit it in. It’s a good thing I’m flexible with my training plans, and it’s also a good thing that we’ll have great running weather again tomorrow.

For yesterday’s Meatless Monday meal, I attempted to copy some vegetarian tacos I had at Billy Blanco’s last week. They were so good, and they had only three main ingredients: portobello mushrooms, zucchini, and onion. It seemed easy enough, so I gave it a go and they came out great! This was so easy, it will definitely be in our dinner rotation. The tacos don’t look that great in the picture, but they definitely tasted great!

20140408-202905.jpg

For the taco seasoning I used a recipe I found online at allrecipes.com. I mixed two tablespoons of chili powder, half a teaspoon of garlic salt, half a teaspoon of onion powder, half a teaspoon of red pepper flakes, one teaspoon of oregano, one teaspoon of paprika, and three teaspoons of cumin.

For the tacos I used three large portobello mushrooms, two zucchini, and one onion. I sautéed the mushrooms with half of the taco seasoning and some canola oil. Once the mushrooms were cooked down, I removed them from the skillet and added the zucchini and onion with the remainder of the taco seasoning and more canola oil. Once the zucchini and onion were done, I added the mushrooms back and salted to taste. That’s it! I heated up some tortillas, heated up some beans, cooked some rice, and dinner was done. I did top off my tacos with some generic goddess dressing, avocado, and a cilantro onion salsa. I don’t recommend adding a cilantro onion salsa, the tacos tasted better without it, but the goddess dressing and avocado I DO recommend.

Today Troy and I went to Pat’s BBQ for dinner. We had a Groupon for Pat’s that was set to expire tomorrow, and since we climb on Wednesdays, we had to eat there today. Their 8:00 closing time is the main reason why I couldn’t run after work, but as frustrating as missing a run is, it’s always nice to have a dinner date with Troy. I got a quarter rack of ribs with a side of corn bread and mashed potatoes. And since we had a Groupon (I love restaurant Groupons!), we splurged on bread pudding for dessert. It was all so good!

20140408-204841.jpg

20140408-204948.jpg

Tomorrow, less eating and more running!

3 thoughts on “Good Eats

  1. I think those tacos look incredible and they certainly sound delicious too. Thank you for the recipe! I might have to make these! (I always make my own seasoning too. It tastes so much better than packaged.)

    Everything in this post looks so good. I love BBQ. 🙂

Leave a Reply

