Running Long

Today I had a 12 mile run on the agenda. My half marathon is in two weeks, and this would be my final long run in preparation for it. I decided to run 12 miles of the half marathon course. I’m fortunate to live so close! I parked near the finish and took a Trax train to the start.

It was a bit rainy, but luckily it only sprinkled here and there when I was out. I’m not sure I would have been motivated enough to push through a super rainy day. For some reason this run had me nervous. My last long run was a super slow pace, slow even for a back-of-the-middle-of-the-pack runner such as myself, but it was hilly and at high elevation, so it wasn’t a good gauge of how I might do in the race. Maybe it was my nerves that did me in, but I started my run and within a half mile I suddenly got very hungry. How does that happen? I ate a small breakfast around 9, but by the time I actually started my run it was noon. I suppose I could have eaten a bigger breakfast, I ate 364 calories, but I still find it odd that I was as hungry as I was while running. Oh well, on race day I’ll be eating a little closer to the race start time, maybe that will help. After taking some time to eat some gel and chews (thanks goodness I brought extra), I was finally feeling good by mile 3.

The rest of the run went well! I know where the tough spots are going to be, and I know where I’ll be able to push myself. My average pace during this run was 12:25, still slower than I’d like to be right now, but nearly 2:00 per mile faster than last week, whew! I’m not planning any speed work during this taper, so my goal is to finish around 2:30. It’ll require me to be a bit faster than I was today, we’ll see how it goes! This run felt really good, I feel more confident about my half marathon coming up. I wish I hadn’t lost so much speed over Winter, but I’m feeling good about my ability to run well in two weeks and I think I’ll improve my speed once I start incorporating speed work after this half marathon.

Here’s a picture from the course, it’s scenic:

20140406-223125.jpg

After running I picked up some groceries, got cleaned up, then got into my Pro Compression socks. I really think they helped me not feel sore after last week’s long run. I’ll have a better idea tomorrow how well they work.

Dinner tonight was a recipe from myrecipes.com. It’s called Spicy Basil Chicken, and it’s Troy’s favorite stir fry dish. Since there aren’t a lot of veggies in this recipe, I found a recipe in my Meatless cookbook called Warm Edamame Salad. The salad has mushrooms, sugar snap peas, red bell peppers, and edamame, it was absolutely delicious!

20140406-223627.jpg

This week I’m starting my taper. I’ll do one strength training day, one spinning day, and four days of running with less mileage. I hope I don’t get too antsy during this taper!

Week in Review:
4 runs, 23 miles
1 climbing day
1 strength training session

5 thoughts on “Running Long

  1. Great job on your run and I love the scenic picture!! Very beautiful!! Wow, 2 weeks away!! Are you excited?! You’re going to do great! You’ve been putting in some fabulous miles!!

Leave a Reply

