Treadmill Jammin

My goal for running this week is to have fresh legs for my final long run in preparation for my half marathon. My half marathon is two weeks from this Saturday, and I plan to run 12 miles this weekend. Since home and work are relatively hilly, I ruled out running in either location, and time constraints prevented me from running at a flat park near work. So yesterday and today, I hit the treadmill.

I have a love/hate relationship with the treadmill. I love that if the weather is bad, I still have some place where I can run. I love that I can choose what kind of run I do on the treadmill (flat vs hilly). I hate the monotony of the treadmill. I hate that when I feel I’ve run at least a half mile, I’ll find I’ve only gone a quarter of a mile. I hate the boredom of the treadmill.

For me, one of the big perks of treadmill running is that I can listen to music when I run. A lot of people can listen to music when they run outside, but for some reason listening to music when I run outside just messes with my pace and stride. Listening to music when running on a treadmill, however, is easy peasy. Here’s a picture taken from the treadmills at my work, the view is great!

20140403-214945.jpg

Even with a view like that, I find music to be a necessity for my treadmill runs. Here are some of the songs that pushed me through my runs yesterday and today:

I Got You (At the End of the Century) by Wilco

Stranger to My Happiness by Sharon Jones and the Dap Kings (I got this song free from Starbucks. With their app, you don’t even have to go to Starbucks to get the free music)

Digital Witness by St. Vincent

Burning Down the House by Talking Heads

Highway to Hell by AC/DC

Young Blood by The Naked and Famous

Happy by Pharrell

Can’t Be Broken by Twin Forks (another Starbucks freebie)

My Sharona by The Knack

Dawned on Me by Wilco

These songs got me through two days of treadmill running. I ran 3 miles yesterday at a 12:15 pace, and 4 miles today at the same pace. Tomorrow I’ll be outside for a short easy run, and then the big test run will be on Sunday. I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the chance of rain predicted for Sunday doesn’t come into fruition.

I’m always looking for more awesome workout music, do you have any favorites?

5 thoughts on “Treadmill Jammin

  1. Wow, seriously, what a beautiful view you have!! SO peaceful!! Also, I understand- I can’t run with music while outside either!! It really does mess with me! I’m glad you like your treadmill- that’s a great thing!! Have a fab 12 mile run! Can’t wait to hear about it! 😉

Leave a Reply

