Strength

Mondays are a non-running day for me, and today my goal was to do a weight lifting session. Strength training is something I struggle with doing consistently. I know I need to do it for injury prevention and to maintain/slow the loss of muscle mass as I age, but for some reason it’s so easy for me to not do it when I’m tired or am short on time. One of my New Year’s resolutions/goals for this year was to strength train more consistently, ideally 2-3 sessions per week.

Today’s session included pec flys, rear delts, hamstring curls, leg extensions, chest press, lat pull downs, low back lifts, and my two favorite exercises for strengthening my hips and glutes: single leg dead lifts with a kettlebell and side steps with a resistance band. For the side steps I have a small resistance band loop, and I step into it so that the band wraps arounds my ankles. I then take steps out in one direction for 30 seconds, then come back stepping out with the opposite leg for 30 seconds. It’s really great for me because hip/glute weaknesses sometimes cause me knee pain when I run.

20140324-214613.jpg

I did not do any cardio today, and I’m hoping I won’t be too sore on tomorrow’s run.

Dinner tonight was a grilled portobello mushroom with pico de gallo, spinach, and some feta (dairy allergy cheat for me, I can get away with it once in a while), pierogies I picked up from Costco with cheddar and jalapeño, and sweet potato fries. Another great meatless Monday meal 🙂

20140324-215301.jpg

4 thoughts on “Strength

Leave a Reply

