Stair Climbing

A friend of mine recently posted about taking breaks every 30 minutes from writing her thesis to climb the five flights of stairs in the campus library. I have been thinking about ways to incorporate more physical activity into my desk-job workday, and the regular stair climbing breaks sounded perfect. I started yesterday with a goal to climb the five floors of stairs at my work every hour. Yesterday I climbed up the stairs five times, today I climbed them seven times. Meetings seem to get in the way of me reaching my goal, but I’m pretty happy with how much I’ve done so far!

20140318-212915.jpg

After work I planned to do a four mile run at a nearby park. The temps were a little cooler than I anticipated, and I didn’t bring warm clothes, so I opted to run on the treadmill at work. Four miles at an easy 12:00 per mile pace. It felt mostly good, but I think I felt the effects from all the stair climbing (or possibly from the mountain biking on Sunday), it was a little tougher than it should have been.

For dinner tonight, I went back to my Global Kitchen cookbook. I made the Hungarian Goulash. It requires an hour of simmering time, a little longer cooking time than I prefer for a weeknight (prep time was an additional ~30 minutes), but the end result was so, so good! It had a good amount of paprika, and I added ~1/2 teaspoon of smoked paprika on top of what was called for. The smoked paprika gave it a really good flavor. The goulash was served over egg noodles and garnished with parsley, yum! Below is a pic of the recipe from the book and then the end product I made tonight.

20140318-214208.jpg

20140318-214239.jpg

Tomorrow morning is the return of the 6am spinning class. My gym is expanding and had to close down for a week to finish construction on the new fitness rooms. I’m looking forward to going back to class! And early next month we’ll have a new spinning fitness room with all new high-tech spinning bikes, yay!

Leave a Reply

