What A Weekend!

Last weekend was a busy and fun weekend, I only wish it could have lasted longer!

I kicked off the weekend with my first race if the year. I ran the Leprechaun Lope 10K. It was a bit windy at the start near the state Capitol, but once we ran into City Creek Canyon, I didn’t notice the wind much at all. The course was uphill for the first half and downhill for the second half. I haven’t been doing hill work at all since early Winter, and I could tell. I struggled going up, but felt great coming down as reflected in my mile splits: 12:32, 13:47, 13:58, 11:10, 10:03, and 10:15. My time was 1:14:11, definitely slow for me, but I had no goals coming into the race besides having fun, and I definitely had fun! My friend S also ran this race, she was super fast and won our age group, woo!

20140317-211302.jpg

After the race I went home, ate, and cleaned up the house while waiting for Troy to get home from working a half day. When he got back, we loaded Rafa (our hiking dog) up and headed out for a hike in Salt Lake City called the Living Room hike. The Living Room hike is a shorter hike in the foothills near my work. It’s a moderately steep hike of ~2.3 miles round trip. When you get to the view point, there are a bunch of rocks set up as chairs. It’s a great spot to sit, take in the view, and enjoy a tasty beverage.

20140317-211633.jpg

20140317-221122.jpg

We called it a day after that and enjoyed the night in.

The next morning we had a brunch reservation at Sundance. Troy’s parents got us a gift card for Christmas, and we were finally getting around to using it. It was my first time enjoying the brunch buffet there, and man, was it good! So much food, and it was all delicious! My favorite was the butterscotch marshmallow bread pudding, it was the perfect texture and sweetness, I seriously can’t stop thinking about how good it was! They sat us next to the fireplace, and after breakfast we took a short walk on the grounds. We’re already planning a trip back there sometime late Summer/early Fall, next time we’ll hike to Timpanogos, stay in one of the cabins overnight, then wake up for brunch and another hike. I really can’t wait to go back!

20140317-211755.jpg

20140317-211818.jpg

After breakfast we came home, did more stuff around the house, then got ready for our first mountain bike ride of the year with C and C. In order to mountain bike, we had to drive to lower elevation trails. Since I’m still new to mountain biking, we also needed easy/non-technical trails. So we went to the Corner Canyon trail system in Draper. It was a long drive to get there, but it was definitely worth it. Having never biked there, I didn’t know what to expect. Corner Canyon is an excellent trail system for the novice mountain biker. There are some big roads there, but also plenty of single track, and there were plenty of dry trails for all of us to enjoy ourselves. Troy and I definitely liked getting out on the mountain bikes.

20140317-211845.jpg

20140317-223233.jpg

After biking we went back to C and C’s and had a nice little BBQ. By 9:00 we were pooped and called it a night.

We had a great time hiking and biking over the weekend, we’re definitely looking forward to doing more of both. As an added bonus to the weekend, I got a chance to go to the Nike outlet store not far from my house, and I scored a great deal on some running shorts. The deal was so great ($17), that I got two pairs. This means that after losing 20 pounds over a year ago, I finally have running shorts that fit! I’m looking forward to running in them šŸ™‚

20140317-211942.jpg

Leave a Reply

