Rest Day and Meatless Monday

After the fun filled and active weekend, I decided yesterday was going to be a rest day. It felt good to take a break!

I recently started doing meatless Monday night dinners. At some point during this Winter I felt that Troy and I were not eating enough veggies, so as a way to force myself to eat more veggies, I started cooking one meatless dinner a week. It’s been fun so far, and I definitely feel better about my veggie intake.

I recently picked up a new cookbook called Global Kitchen: The World’s Most Delicious Food Made Easy. What drew my eye to this book were all the pictures of spicy looking food. I love ethnic cuisines, and this book covers the whole globe. For yesterday’s dinner I made the Fall Vegetable Curry.

20140317-212154.jpg

20140318-074227.jpg

The total cook time for this recipe was 25 minutes, perfect for a weeknight. The curry uses sweet potatoes, cauliflower, and chickpeas, yum! It was quick and easy to cook and it tasted great. The only thing I might do differently next time is add some garlic and ginger. Troy thought this recipe tasted better than last week’s veggie curry I made (which also took twice as long to cook). Score for the better tasting and faster curry! I love having quick cooking recipes that taste great on hand.

20140317-212207.jpg

Leave a Reply

